Superstars raced at Maryland oval
When old-timers in the waterfront village of Havre de Grace get to reminiscing about the “good old days,” they start swapping tales about
the local racetrack of the same name that first opened in 1912. Perched on the bluffs above the Susquehanna River and on the headwaters of the Chesapeake Bay, the Maryland track attracted legendary horses, fabulously rich owners, and top-tier trainers and jockeys. Affectionately dubbed “The Graw” by locals, it was one of racing’s gems. Racing history was minted here.
Download this week's regional section to continue reading.